Gallery of Legends

The PATA Gallery of Legends is located, appropriately, at Honolulu International Airport in Hawaii on the north side of the open air walkway to the Central Concourse. – the birthplace of the Association (formed as the Pacific Interim Travel Association). The Gallery of Legends was conceived by former PATA president Pierre Doley  (1991-2) who worked for KLM Royal Dutch Airlines.  The Gallery comprises striking bronze plaques that commemorate the outstanding achievements of individuals in the field of travel and tourism. Annually the over 2,000 PATA member organizations honor in the Gallery of Legends those individuals whose contributions exemplify excellence, leadership and vision, and who have enhanced the quality of community life in the Pacific Asia region and throughout the world. The first such award, in 1993, honoured Juan Trippe – founder of Pan American World Airways. Subsequent plaques have been cast in memory of, amongst others, Sir Edmund Hillary, Thomas Cook and Conrad Hilton. 

PATA has recognized the following in the Gallery of Legends:

Thomas Cook (1808-1892)

Founder of the Thomas Cook Group, a world leader in travel, was recognized for his accomplishment in creating the modern concept of travel, developing group pleasure travel to Asia and the Pacific, and building respect for ancient cultures throughout the globe.

Sir Hudson Fysh

For his pioneering efforts in founding the Queensland and Northern Territory Aerial Services Ltd. (Qantas), the Australia National Travel Association (now Tourism Australia) and for his leadership in the formation of the Inteernational Air Transport Association (IATA).

Sir Edmund Hillary

For his adventurous spirit in the conquest of Mount Everest and his devotion to the preservation of Nepal’s natural environment and cultural heritage.

Conrad N. Hilton (1887-1979)

Founder, Chairman and CEO, Hilton Hotels Association, for establishing the first international hotel chain, developing standards of quality in hotel management and operations for the entire hospitality industry, supporting industry education and training, and furthering the concept of world peace through international trade and travel.

L. W. “Bill” Lane Jr., A.O.

Publisher, Ret., Sunset Magazine and Co-Chairman, Lane Publishing Co., U.S. Ambassador, Ret., Australia & Nauru, for his environmental initiatives, historic preservation of cultural heritage and education, and sustainable tourism, and promotion of peace through travel.

James A. Michener

For his outstanding literary contributions to the area of awareness and appreciation of the Asia Pacific region and for his personal commitment to the ideals of cultural tolerance, exchange and community, which remain the highest goals of global travel.

William J. Mullahey (1910-1981)

Vice President of Pan American Airways, & a founding father of PATA, for developing travel to the South Pacific, leadership in protection of the region’s environment and cultural heritage, and his groundbreaking efforts in tourism training and education.

F. Marvin Plake

For his high caliber statesmanship and outstanding contributions to PATA and to the development of the travel and tourism industry in the Pacific.

Joseph F. Sutter

For his outstanding leadership and lifetime contribution to aviation and for his design work on the Boeing 747 the “Jumbo Jet” which brought more affordable air travel to the wider international community.

J.R.D. Tata (1904-1993)

Chairman of Tata Sons, 1938-1991; Founder of Tata Airlines (1932), for pioneering civil air transport in India, expanding the Indian industrial base, initiating partnerships between labor and management, and symbolizing the spirit of adventure and daring to the citizens of the world.

Juan Trippe (1899-1981)

Founder, Chairman and CEO of Pan American World Airways (1926-1968), was honored for revolutionizing common air travel, initiating air travel and tourism across the Pacific, introducing circumnavigation of the world by air, contributing to aircraft technology programs, and pioneering waves of change for which he has been honored by the nations of the world.

George J. “Pete” Wimberly

For his pioneering role in bringing culturally and environmentally sensitive resort hotels to Pacific nations, and for his dedication and contribution to travel and tourism in Asia Pacific.

Dr. Chuck Yim Gee

For more than fifty years, Dr. Gee’s contributed to the development of human resources through education and training.  He provided the leadership to the University of Hawai‘i School of Travel Industry Management (TIM) as a co-founder and its longest serving dean.  During his tenure, he served on Hawai‘i State and U.S. national boards including three terms on the Travel and Tourism Advisory Board of the U.S. Department of Commerce.